Outreachy - Modifying Expectations

Outreachy - Modifying Expectations

Contributing to MediaWiki has been an amazing journey for me so far. My project was initially divided into two sections, the first part was to improve 20 top 100 most viewed MediaWiki Action API pages on-wiki which was to last 8 weeks starting from the 3rd of December when the internship officially kicked off while the second part of the project was to develop a bot that mass edits sample code from mediawiki-api-demos repository to the API namespace on MediaWiki.org and vice-versa and this was estimated to take 4 weeks. A couple of timelines and tasks have changed due to unforeseen circumstances and some tasks taking longer than anticipated but in all, I'm excited about all I've been able to contribute so far and the knowledge gained while doing so.

Goals and Accomplishments So far

So far I've been able to improve 14 MediaWiki Action API pages and submit pull requests for Sample codes in Python, Javascript, PHP, and MediawikiJS for each of these pages. Links to Mediawiki action pages I've worked on and Pull requests can be found on my Mediawiki user page Zaycodes

What project goals took longer than expected and Why?

Improving the MediaWiki action API pages took longer than expected and this happened because I under-estimated the amount of work to be done. During the contribution phase, I improved 2 pages, working on these pages was not so tedious for me because there was already some information on the existing page that I could work with and also guide me through testing the APIs so I assumed that the remaining pages were going to be the same, however, I was wrong. During the community bonding period when I was putting together pages that I was going to improve, I discovered that some pages had little or no information to work with, so I had to do more research on these pages and test the APIs thoroughly so I could document all possible scenarios. such pages ended up taking longer time to work on than the estimated time. Lastly, everyone struggles, therefore I've also had some challenges such as git which also caused some delay.

What would you do differently if you were starting the project over?

I would definitely do more research on the work that's to be done before submitting my timelines, I would not just assume and under-estimate tasks especially when I have to work with tools I've not used before. I would also ask more questions when I'm not sure about tasks before making time commitments.

Which original goals had to be modified?

The second part of my project to develop a bot that mass edits sample code from mediaWiki-api-demos repository to the API namespace on MediaWiki.org and vice-versa was replaced with improving additional Mediawiki action pages instead.

My new plan for the second half of the internship?

To improve as many Mediawiki action pages as I can, I'm more used to the tools and environment than I was when I started so I believe I'll be able to work on more pages in the second half of the internship all things being equal.

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Zainab Daodu by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!