Dev Retro 2022: A year of Transformation

Dev Retro 2022: A year of Transformation

As we begin 2023, it's time to reflect on the past year and the achievements, events, and milestones that defined 2022. Life happened in 2022, and I'm grateful for the experiences and lessons I've learned. I've never written an article about my achievements or losses in any particular year. I wasn't planning on writing one this year, but there's a first time for everything. Here are some highlights from 2022.

Highlights of 2022

I had just moved to a new country a few months ago and was trying to balance motherhood and adapting to a new environment and culture. I struggled to adapt to the new environment and didn't have a job or many friends. Towards the end of 2021, I was depressed. I got a rejection letter which shook me because I thought this was the one - the rest is history.

2021 ended with so much uncertainty, and I started 2022 with hope for a better year. I was volunteering as the open source program manager at SheCode Africa and actively looking for a remote technical writing job. I plan to use the software development and technical writing experience I gained in Nigeria (mainly through open-source contributions) to secure a job here in the UK.

2022 was a year of divine transformation for me, and here’s a recap of some of the highlights of 2022 for me:

  • I got selected as a 2022 Gen Next Honouree and was offered a place on the OpenUK 2022 Honours List

  • I got offered a remote full-time technical writing role

  • I launched my personal brand Zaycodes, a technical content creation brand that has grown to a team of 6 people

  • I organized two major open-source programs for African women in tech in collaboration with organizations like CloudBees, Jenkins, CHAOSS, Layer5, Moja Global, Chimoney, Open Source for Equality, etc.

  • My brand Zaycodes sponsored the SCA Summit, Africa's largest women's tech conference.

  • I got featured on blogs such as ThestackJournal and invited to speak at technical community workshops and events organized by Enyata, EmpowerHer Community, Developers in Vogue, CHAOSS, cdCON, and DevOps World USA (later canceled)

OpenUK New Year’s Honours

I knew 2022 would be different when I received an email from Amanda Brock, CEO of OpenUK, informing me that I had been selected as a 2022 Gen Next Honouree and offered a place on the OpenUK 2022 Honours List. This list recognizes the UK's emerging talent in open-source software, open hardware and open data, and it was a great honor to have my contribution to open software recognized. This news lifted my spirits and assured me things would improve.

Job Offer

Then came the full-time offer as a technical writer in February, and it was fully remote, just as I wanted! This offer came after numerous rejections. I still remember soberly applying for this job on my kitchen table after receiving that rejection in December 2021, which hit me hard. I can't even describe how excited I was to get this job, especially after all my frustrations with not getting international remote jobs because of my location - one of the reasons I decided to move. It made my move to the UK very much worth it.

You can check out my blog for tips to help secure your job as a technical writer.

Organising Contributhon Cohort 2

In April, with my team at SheCode Africa and in partnership with 5 open-source organizations (Jenkins, Layer5, Coil, CHAOSS and Moja Global), I planned the second cohort of Contributhon. Contributhon is an open source bootcamp for African women to create a more diverse and inclusive open-source ecosystem. This program allows women across Africa to work with open-source organizations on a project for 8 weeks while being mentored. At the end of the bootcamp, they're rewarded with a $500 stipend. I was proud of the contributions made during the program and looked forward to planning the third Contributhon cohort.

Contributhon By She Code Africa (2022): Feedback from participants

Launching Zaycodes

Giving back to the community is a quality I value highly because the community allows me to learn, grow, and network. This led to my brand, "Zaycodes", a technical writing and open source brand that creates technical content and also focuses on promoting and supporting open source contributions, emphasizing more diversity and inclusion in the open source ecosystem.

I launched Zaycodes on my birthday in July with a free mentorship program, “Chat with Zee”, where I shared my knowledge and answered questions regarding open source and technical writing.

Subsequently, Zaycodes published weekly blog posts on technical writing, open source, and other topics on Hashnode and Medium to raise awareness of non-coding contributions, especially in technical writing and documentation for tech professionals worldwide. One of our articles on how to make a career out of technical writing was featured by Hashnode.

In 2022, Zaycodes grew from a team of one to 6 with over 3,000 audiences across all social media platforms in 6 months; LinkedIn, Twitter, and Instagram.

Organising SCA HackFest 22

In October, I organized SCA HackFest 22, an open-source HackFest, with my team member Omotola. The focus of this HackFest was to support open-source projects that support underrepresented communities. Participants worked with various non-governmental organizations to develop solutions to problems faced by underrepresented communities. To reward their contributions, creativity and innovative thinking, each participant received a $50 data stipend and the top three teams were awarded cash prizes.

Read more about it here.

Sponsoring the Largest Gathering of Women in Tech

In November, Zaycodes partnered with She Code Africa for the first edition of the #SCASummit, themed "Elevating the African Woman in Tech".

This was a big highlight for me as the summit was the biggest conference for women in tech and created a safe space for women in tech to have various empowering conversations and training on different skills and career fields in tech.

Events and Conferences

In 2022, I spoke at technical community workshops and events by Enyata, EmpowerHer Community, Developers in Vogue, CHAOSS and cdCON. I was supposed to speak at DevOps World USA, but I had issues obtaining a US visa, and the in-person conference was canceled due to Hurricane Ian. I also got featured in blogs such as ThestackJournal.

Reflections

2022 was a year of change and a year filled with growth in various ways. I continued to learn and took personal development courses because, as we all know, learning never stops in the tech space.

As a new mother, moving with my family to a foreign country and settling down there while at the same time advancing my tech career was only possible by God's grace and not by my efforts. At the beginning of the year, I had resolved to improve my relationship with God, and I tried, but I wasn't as consistent as I'd have liked to be. I will change that this year because I want to get closer to Him.

Another lesson I learned in 2022 is that staying consistent pays. Rejections are hard, and it doesn't get easier. The fact that you've been getting rejections in the last few months or years doesn't make it easier, but you can't stop because if you stop, you won't get what you're looking for. You just have to keep going.

Also, volunteering, self-promotion, and, using the networks I've built, planning and attending events within and outside the community accelerated my growth in 2022, and I'm grateful for that.

I cannot conclude these reflections without talking about my amazing friends and family who have been instrumental in my growth in 2022. I couldn't have achieved this without them, and I'm grateful for their support.

Plans for 2023

“For I know the plans and thoughts that I have for you,’ says the LORD, ‘plans for peace and well-being and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope." - Jeremiah 29:11

2022 was a great year, but 2023 will be even better. This year we will focus on creating value.

Here's what I have in mind for 2023:

  • Create an open-source community for African women in tech in She Code Africa. This community will focus on helping community members gain tangible experience through open source contributions to SCA open source projects, sharing useful resources, hosting hands-on workshops, and many other activities around open source to encourage more African women to get involved.

  • Expand my Zaycodes brand by writing more articles, starting a monthly tech writing and open source newsletter, hosting a tech writing bootcamp, publishing an ebook for the community, and continuing to advocate for gender diversity and inclusion in open source. There's a lot planned for 2023, so look forward to it and continue to support the Zaycodes brand by consuming and sharing our content with everyone you know who can benefit from it.

  • This year I want to travel more and preach the gospel of technical writing and open source at more conferences. If an opportunity arises, please feel free to contact me. I plan to get out more and vacation with my family this year.

It was a pleasure doing 2022 with you all, and I look forward to a wonderful 2023 with you. I always love hearing feedback on your journey to open source and technical writing and how my content has helped you. My DMs are always open to questions and don't forget, I am always rooting for you; cheers!

Happy New Year!!!

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Zainab Daodu by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!